EMN National Contact Point
for the Slovak Republic

Comparative overview of national protection statuses in the EU and Norway (2020)

In the field of asylum, EU legislation requires Member States to harmonise their legislation and practices in line with the Common European Asylum System (CEAS). There are two protection statuses harmonised at European level - refugee status and subsidiary protection, however a variety of national protection statuses exist as well.

The study aims to provide an overview of forms of protection granted by EU Member States and Norway based on their national legislation. It also contains the information on the reason of being granted the status, procedures, rights, period of validity, etc. It is a partial update of the EMN study entitled The Different National Practices Concerning Granting of Non-EU Harmonised Protection Statuses which was elaborated in 2010.

EMN Coordinator for Slovakia

International Organization for Migration (IOM) – Office in the Slovak Republic

www.emn.sk | ↗ www.iom.sk
LinkedIn | ↗ Facebook | ↗ YouTube

EMN Coordinator for the EU

European Comission - Directorate General for Migration and Home Affairs 

LinkedIn | ↗ Twitter

EMN Slovakia Newsletter

↗ Download the latest edition

Archive of newsletters

Subscribe to EMN news

News on Migration in the EU

↗ Download the latest EMN Bulletin

Archive of bulletins

Subscribe to EMN news